Herbivore – Lapis Oil Facial Balancing Oil

collage_20160320095726448_20160320095851622.jpgHi all! Been a while since I’ve last posted a review.  I’ve been following your posts all these time so given the little pocket of time I can find in the middle of sorting out my home renovation, am doing a post of a product that I’ve used this year.

This is a product that I have purchased from Sephora USA using Ezbuy (formerly known as  65daigou). The product is priced at around USD72 for 1.2oz.

About the Brand

From Herbivore website: “We bring you truly natural, cruelty free skincare that provides results you can see and feel. We also believe skincare should smell and feel amazing and add enjoyment to your daily routine.” Products are handcrafted and produced in small quantities. In a way, you can consider this as boutique brand that is only available for sale online.  Currently this brand cannot be found in Singapore.

About the Product

The product aims to reduce redness and to bring balance to the skin moisture. Ingredients include blue tansy which is also the key component for the highly raved Blue Cocoon by May Lindstrom. Other oil ingredients in this product includes Kukui Nut Oil (high in Linoleic Acid, good for acne prone skin) and Jojoba Oil (fairly balanced ratio between Oleic and Linoleic Acids). Coconut Oil can also be found in this product though if you have acne prone skin, this may or may not be of concern because it depends on the ratio that Coconut Oil is used in this product. The texture of the oil is thin and runny, and it has a blue tinge due to Blue Tansy.

Using this Product

I had used this product for 2 months. It was light and absorbed well. I had used this right after toning my skin.  Each time, I will use between 4 drops (for day) to 5 drops (for night). However, I did notice that the oil does not stay on well in humid Singapore because of, hence my skin will still feel dry after 4 hours in air-conditioned environment. As such, I will recommend to only pat on this oil after your usual moisturizer if you are going to be in the air-conditioned room for a full day. Personally I will recommend used of powder sunblock instead of emulsion based sunblock after patting on this oil as powder sunblock should stay on better.  I have not tried this product in dry temperate countries, but the reviews for this oil has been rather good.  In terms of bringing down redness, I would say that SKII Facial Treatment Essence delivers a much quicker effect (its like in 3 secs I see the redness disappear after patting on the lotion). This oil may not bring about as visible effect or as quickly. Hydration wise, I like this oil for night application and it does make my skin appear smoother the next day (not that the acne disappear but just that the rough skin seems to smoothen out).

Buying this Product

I will consider buying this product again for the hydration – though fact is a bottle will last a long time since only a few drops are used at a time. After 2 months, my bottle still seems like I’ve only a reasonably small fraction of the bottle.  You can purchase this product directly from Herbivore Beauty website or from Sephora USA website. For those of you who want to try out the  product before buying full size, you can order the rollerball version to test the product.

Have you used any Herbivore products before?

3 thoughts on “Herbivore – Lapis Oil Facial Balancing Oil”

Leave a Reply

