Skincare Tip – Using Oil Based Make up Remover

Some of us may have experienced outbreaks after using oil based make up removers. My first oil based make up remover was a Shu Uemura Makeup Removal Oil (I can’t remember the actual name now) more than 10 years ago, when I purchased based on recommendations and without researching into what works best for my skin then. My colleagues at that time raved about the oil and how amazing it was in removing makeup – so I bought it and tried to follow the instructions. My skin broke into more acne and I refused to use any oil based make up remover – not until the last couple of years where I start to fall in love with facial oils.

Having both problematic and sensitive skin, micellar water would be the most recommended makeup remover in the market for me. However, I could not resist the reviews online so I bought the Senka Cleansing Oil to try more than a year ago – only to put it back on the shelf because again I experienced outbreaks. This is where I switched back to Sephora Triple Cleansing Water and Bioderma Sensibio. Interestingly, during my last vacation to Bali a month ago, I decided to give Origins Cleansing Oil a try (ah that bug got me again!) because the ingredients list said its all natural oils (no mineral oil). I braced myself for a round of outbreaks (again).  Interestingly, the experience changed my mind and my understanding on using cleansing oils. This is what I learnt during and after I returned from my trip to Bali – after using Origins Cleansing Oil for a full week to remove my sunscreen.

1) Be generous with the amount of oil you use

Use any amount you think your face needs. The important point is you need sufficient oil to soften the day’s grime and lift the grime off your skin.  Think hydration.  After a long day, you may have makeup that becomes stubborn after mixing with perspiration or oil. Use generous amount of oil (I usually use about 2 tablespoon) and gently spread it on your face, to help you ‘moisten’ the dryer patches and help ‘lift’ the makeup. Spread and massage the entire face with fingers, gently (we don’t want wrinkles and lines!). You will notice how nicely the makeup gets lifted by the oils. Massage for about 1 minute in circular motion. When you want to remove your eye makeup (esp eye shadow and primer), use your ring fingers and glide gently around the lids and eye sockets). As you massage, you may feel some little “grains” on your fingers. Take a look – these could be dead skin or hardened white heads that “popped” out as your fingers massage the now hydrated skin.

It dawned on me that my past outbreaks could be due to the lack of oil used on my face. It was not sufficient to breakdown the day’s grime and makeup hence end up clogging my pores. Well, so much about trial and error and second chances!

2) Remember to Emulsify – Slowly and Gently

After the massaging (some of you may prefer to perform “acupuncture” by pressing on selected acupuncture points on the face to enhance blood circulation so that can take more than 1 minute), remember to wet the face (with oil still on it) and again in circular motion, help the oil emulsify and be lifted off your skin.  I perform two step cleansing so this is followed by a foaming cleanser and my clarisonic to “shake out” any residue in the pores after emulsifying.

Always emulsify your cleansing oil thoroughly so that it can be cleansed with water thoroughly. Cleansing oils are not for those who are always in a hurry. The particles takes time to be lifted.

3) Mineral oil vs. Natural Oil – Hydration test post double cleanse method

I am comparing Senka Cleansing Oil (mineral oil based) vs Origins Cleansing Oil (natural oil based). For the second wash, I always and only use Senka Perfect Whip Foam and clarisonic. The result? Senka Cleansing Oil may come from the same family as Perfect Whip Foam, but the post second wash hydration level paled against the post second wash for Origins Cleansing Oil. My skin feels more hydrated after using Origins Cleansing Oil and Perfect Whip Foam. Mineral based Cleansing oil not as good as Natural Oil based Cleansing Oil? I am not sure. For this I will need you to test and let me know what you think.

So what do you think? Do you have similar experiences?

Leave a Reply

