Hourglass Cosmetics – Ambient Lighting Powder and Ambient Lighting Palette

Hourglass Ambient Series.jpgI have read about Hourglass Cosmetics’ Ambient Lighting Powders and Ambient Lighting Palette. I could not find Hourglass products in Singapore, so I ordered it off its USA website and had it shipped to Singapore. As you can see from the picture on the left, I bought an Ambient Lighting Power (Diffused Light) and Ambient Lighting Palette. I have been using the Diffused Light for a while and I can’t wait to share with you how it felt and what feedback I have been receiving since I started using it. Before I go on, I must thank Dorkchops for sharing with me information on Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder some months back, which helped me figure out which powder to purchase without testing it first.

About the Product

I shall not be talking to much about the ingredients used in the Ambient Lighting Powders and Ambient Lighting Palette. You can look at them through the image that I’ve provided in this post. However I would like to describe to you what I think about the product.  The product is made of finely milled ingredients compressed into cake, which explains why it is fragile and needs to be handled carefully lest it breaks and shatters. If you were to rub your fingers onto the cake, it will pick up a thin film of powder on your finger that gives out such subtle glow when it comes into contact with light. With Diffused Light, the light reflected is subtle yet refined. It is not shiny and really, I can’t see any difference when I dust it on my face with my contoured brush. That’s not important – I mean the whole point about wearing makeup is for others to see, right?

Using the Product

Usually, I wear my bareMinerals foundation and Tarte blusher to work (no lipsticks coz I don’t want lipsticks on my mug – as much as I love my collection of lipsticks). On the first day I tried on Diffused Light, I put it all over my face.  When I got into the office, I was stopped by a female colleague working in the same office, asking me why there is this bright glow on my face. On another day where I decide to change and only applied Diffused Light on my forehead, nose bridge and over my cheek after I’d applied blusher, another colleague whom I’d known for several years sat across me (about 2m away), and commented that my skin seemed to have improved so much (I had problem skin) that there is a glow from within. I laughed and told her its “make up magic”. Honestly, when I got home, I did realise that the Ambient Lighting Powder did seem to blur out my long lasting Tarte blusher and delivered a soft and subtle pink from the blusher. Maybe that’s where the healthy glow from within came from! Boy, I am so going to stock up on Diffused Light when I finish mine!

Purchasing the Product

Hourglass Cosmetics is not available in Singapore – so those in Singapore will have to order the Ambient Lighting product online via its USA website (without going through any shopping agent). If you are using comGateway or 65daigou to help you purchase items from overseas, you can also order Hourglass Cosmetics products from Sephora USA website.

Have you used Hourglass Ambient Lighting? Do you think it has worked for you?

Leave a Reply

