Cure – Natural Aqua Gel

wpid-collage_20150706124542892_20150706124657369.jpg

Those of you who’d read my earlier post on exfoliation would have learnt about Cure, a product that I’d recommended for removal of dead skin cell by softening it and not through abrasion (as with scrubs). This, I find, is a safe product to use once to twice a week – though some reviews claim that you can use this more than once on the same day if you feel that your dead skin has not been completely removed (ie your skin still feel rough).

About the Product

Cure is made in Japan by Toyo Net Japan, and it is the company’s star product. You will see from the ingredient list below, that Water is the main ingredient for this peeling gel. There are, in the market, many peeling gels. In Asia, a popular peeling gel by Ginvera is one of the earliest form of peeling gel having dominated the asian market for more than 10 years. However, Cure remains different because it does not react just on any surface; and only turns into milky water when it comes into contact with dead skin. This is the point where one will gently rub to remove the softened dead skin.

Here’s the ingredient list for Cure (taken off Toyo Net website):

WATER-90.66%

Activated hydrogen water from purified water is used.

GLYCERIN-5%

Widely used moisturizing ingredient that contains high hygroscopic nature and has been used for long time.

CROSSPOLYMER (ACRYLARES/C-10-30 ALKY ACRYLATE)

The same liquid as used by ophthalmologists for eye surgery.
We use it for thickener.

DICOCODIMONIUM CHLORIDE・STEARTRIMONIUM BROMIDE

It is to respond to old deadskin. Commonly used for conditioner.

ALOE BARBADENSIS LEAF EXTRACT-<1%

An expected ingredient that moisturizes and protects rough and dry skin.

GINKGO BILOBA EXTRACT-<1%

Extract from ginkgo, expected to moisturize, to prevent skin mottle and freckles.

ROSMARINUS OFFICINALIS (ROSEMARY) LEAF EXTRACT-<1%

It has anti-inflammation and antibacterial effects and is expected to solve skin problems solutions.

BUTYLENE GLYCOL-<1%

Color-free and scent-free moisturizing liquid

ISOPROPYL ALCOHOL-<0.33%

An ingredient contained in fruits, vegetables, and alcoholic drinks.
We use it to blend stearyltrimonium bromide

Using the Product

Some of my friends had used Cure on their unwashed faces (ie. after removing makeup or if they don’t wear makeup, to use use it before washing their face). However, I realised that it is most effective when I use it after I have washed my face, without Clarisonic (note: Clarisonic have some abrasive effects – hence mild exfoliation). An important step thereafter is to dab dry my face (no water!) before I spread 2-3 pumps of Cure onto my face. I’ll leave it to ’emulsify’ (or turn ‘milky’) before I gently and softly run my fingers over my face to lift the softened dead skin. I will find lots of bits coming off my face. I will do this for about 1 minute before I rinse with cool or room temperature water to remove the bits.  Once done, I will apply my usual toner and moisturizer to protect the new skin that was revealed.

Another use for this product, is to remove long standing grim in hard to reach areas or under the necks, back of the knees, elbows, etc. It has been used on children below 12 years of age to remove grime that they did not wash off during shower – effective!

Where to Buy the Product

Cure is widely available in Watsons in Singapore. This Japanese product is also available in Japan drugstores (I read this somewhere). In Singapore, it retail for about S$42 a bottle but one bottle can last you a few months. Users have to remember that once you open the bottle, you should finish it within a year (the effectiveness will weaken since it does not have the usual preservatives as the website claims).

This is a staple in my bathroom. I hope it will become yours too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

