Skincare Tip – Daily Skincare Essentials (Part III)

Hi all, I’m back after a long hiatus. Been really busy at work so here I am sharing with you the 3rd instalment of my daily skincare essentials. This time, its on Moisturizing.

Whether you are living in tropical country like Singapore, or in a temperate country with four seasons, Moisturizing remains an important part of our basic 3-step skincare regime. Each day, our skin, being the largest organ, is exposed to many different contaminants and impurities. Our health constitution from lifestyle and daily stresses adds on to the our skincare condition. So how do we choose our moisturizer?

From my personal experience, selection of moisturizer depends on:

1) Your skin condition – is it normal, combination, oily or dry. Normal skin usually would not have problems with over or under production of natural facial oils in tropical and humid country like in Singapore. However, light moisturizer that helps to retain good skin health remains essential. Oily skin is sometimes what I experience when my hormones are running amok or when I am under severe stress. It felt like an oil field that has no tap on it. 😀 Dry skin folks will know that good moisturizers go a long way. Takes away the dry and painful flakes, and prevents further infections on the skin.

2) The environment that you live and work in – the environment introduces external stresses to our skin, so its important that we use products that work on our skin yet at the same time protects our skin from external stresses. Warm weather increase perspiration, opens our pores but also creates adhesive for dirt and grime to stick on our face and clog our pores. Cold weather dries up the surface of our skin, and forcing more oil to the surface to maintain skin health.

So what do I use to protect my facial skin?

I have combination normal-oily skin, and my skin’s inner layers tend to be oily while the surface is dry. Hence I tend to choose moisturizers that are hydrating yet seals in moisture. The Label Young’s Shocking Mist is a decent product that I’ve been using in the day where I need to put on make up before going to work. The texture of the product seals in moisture for about 4 hours yet at the same time allow the skin to breathe and the perspiration to surface. It holds my bareMinerals Ready Foundation rather well (pseudo primer) and does not clog my pores. Another product that I use is the Albion’s Exage Moist Crystal Milk II and Herbal Oil Gold together with the Albion’s Skin Conditioner to hydrate my skin, depending on my skin condition that day.

As I work in air-conditioned office, my skin will be dry by the time I reach afternoon. This will call for additional step after I cleanse my face at night. Typically I will either apply sheet mask once a week (I use My Beauty Diary series) for more intense hydration, or to apply Neal’s Yard Remedies’ Rehydrating Rose Facial Oil and seal with NYR’s Comfrey and Yarrow Moisturizer at night.

I have subscribed to a website that gave tips on how to treat acne skin recently to learn more from those who had experienced horrible acne outbreaks. Those of you with acne problem may also want to check this site out: The Love Vitamin. Here, she’s recommended to use jojoba oil as moisturizer because it has similar texture as our facial oil, and would help to “tell” our skin not to produce anymore oil. Of course, she has many other tips to share so do check it out and learn from her amazing journey!

Let me know what has been working for you!

Leave a Reply

