bareMinerals READY SPF 20 Mineral Foundation

Bareminerals Ready FoundationI have been using bareMinerals READY SPF 20 Mineral Foundation for a while now, and I thought its time I do a review on this amazing foundation. Why did I say its amazing? Its true it is mineral and many other foundations which are mineral based – but fact is, this is the only powder foundation that I’ve used so far that doesn’t give me outbreaks!

About the Product

Those of you out there who are cult followers of the bareMinerals product ranges will know that the popularity for this product spread like wild fire when its founder, Leslie, started selling its loose powder foundation on QVC in USA. The swirl-tap-buff sure got many ladies onboard and its now one of the go-to foundations for those who have problem skin. From the bareMinerals website, the active ingredients in this foundation are: Titanium Dioxide 11%, Zinc Oxide 18%. Inactive Ingredients: Boron Nitride, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Magnesium Silicate, Silica, Nylon-12, Humic Acids, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Jojoba Esters, Corallina Officinalis Extract, Lecithin, Betaine, Algae Extract. May Contain: Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides. This foundation also claims to increase hydration by 108% with decent coverage (important point to note for those of you who have reddish patches on your skin like me!)

Using the Product

I have used this product with the bareMinerals brush as well as other flatheaded brushes. The coverage is good if you have some reddish patches or light freckles on your skin. For those with large acne, you can still use this product, but the bumps may be amplified to show the unevenness of the skin. Moles or dark patches that show up prominently on your skin may not be covered that well so you can say that light flaws can be covered, but if you have visible flaws such as large open pores, suggest to use a primer and concealer before using this foundation. This foundation can be layered on (do use flat headed brushes, or if you are a Sigma brush fan, use a 3DHD Precision brush would do the job just fine to create a nice professional finish). I wore this foundation in the humid Singapore weather and it lasted me almost 6 to 8 hours (note: not perspiring okie). My skin did not feel as drying after removing the foundation too. I guess I can attest to the 108% more hydration. Also, I noticed that when I have small pimples, using this foundation actually help to dry them up! (Gosh!). I am not sure if its gotta do with the ingredients in this foundation but hey, it doesn’t clog and helps with drying up small pimples – thumbs up!

Where to Buy this Product

I like to stock this up when I am overseas or when I have friends travelling to USA (its a lot cheaper there). In Singapore, you can purchase it from Sephora and its always good to stock up when its your birthday month (those of you with Sephora’s white card or black card) so that you get some discounts. Otherwise, there are plenty of online shops that ships for free worldwide so do google on!

Are you using this product too? Do share with me your experience!

4 thoughts on “bareMinerals READY SPF 20 Mineral Foundation”

  1. Am a huge fan of bare minerals foundations and have been using them for about 7 years. This is the only one I haven’t tried and it was because Goss the makeup artist said that it was horrendous, but all the other reviews I’ve read have said it’s really good. Maybe Goss got a dodgy one! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If I’m not wrong, Goss also gave a bad review on Clarisonic claiming that it gave him red itchy spots. I have been using Clarisonic for a few years and changed my brush heads regularly. Didnt have any problems. Maybe he was really unlucky to have picked up dodgy one for that too! ☺ Do give this READY foundation a try and let me know what you think! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

