Karen Murrell – Lipsticks

KarenMurell Lipsticks.jpgI chanced upon Karen Murrell (KM) lipsticks when I was shopping on Taobao, the Chinese equivalent of Amazon and Korean Gmarket. It caught my attention because several vendors who are selling this product claimed that this is a “可以吃的口红” or “lipstick that can be eaten”. They also claimed that this lipstick is safe for pregnant women. I thought that products which are safe for mothers should be very safe, so I did a run of the product background and found the KM website.  I did eventually grabbed what you see on the left from the Taobao website, if you’re wondering if I had bought it from KM website directly – coz I was buying a lot more from Taobao and I though it would be a lot cheaper to just ship them back together with my other purchases via my favourite agent, 65daigou.

About the Productwpid-wp-1422669510518.jpg

Based in New Zealand, the KM Lipsticks are made from natural based ingredients. They do not contain any mineral oils, animal-based material, parabens or preservatives. And because of the fusion of Mother Nature’s miracle ingredients, the more you use KM Lipstick the better condition your lips will be in. This high-quality formulation means KM Lipsticks are long lasting on lips, and they smell and taste great. For green warriors out there, you’ll be happy to know that the packaging of the KM range, with its original artwork, has been designed with sustainability at the forefront. The outer packaging is a 100% recyclable and renewable box made from New Zealand trees and printed with soya ink. (Source – KM website).  The KM lipsticks are moisturizing and nourishing because of the natural ingredients used in making them.

KM Sand Storm.jpgUsing the Product

I love KM lipstick because of its ingredients and the lack of “nasties” in the lipsticks. I am using Sand Storm currently (yup, you heard me, I am using a NUDE lipstick and I have asian skin). Sand Storm active ingredients are:

Candelilla (Euphorbia cerifera)

The candelilla plant grows in the semi-arid environment of northern Mexico. Plants growing in the hottest and driest areas produce a protective covering, which yields a hard vegetable wax of superior quality after processing. Candelilla wax is yellow, and is celebrated in lipstick production for its hard, brittle, glossy and slightly tacky properties.

Evening primrose oil (Oenothera biennis)
Rich in omega-6, soothing and very moisturising.

Castor oil (Ricinus communis)
Excellent emollient properties and a high-acting pigment dispersant. Due to its high viscosity, castor oil also helps to suspend pigment in the manufacturing process to avoid settling when hot. KM Lipstick pigments are milled into castor oil in a ball mill. The milling process reduces particle size and ensures even suspension and distribution.

I love how Sand Storm glides over my lips, and I like the NUDE look when I have my blusher and eye lines. I may look a tad pale (I am fair skinned with slight yellow undertones and dark brown hair) but it gives a rather fair faced look when I wear Sand Storm *muack!*. The only surprise I had was the scent, which might seem a tad too “waxy” because there are no fragrance used – but get pass that and you’ll love the lipstick just like me. Overall, still like KM lipstick coz “I don’t like nasties on my lips”! Nothing beats having a piece of mind when you use lipsticks! 🙂

Where to Buy the Product

You can purchase KM lipstick from:

1) Karen Murrell Official Website – And I wish to congratulate the KM team for bagging another nomination in NZ!

2) Taobao – if you are a frequent online shopper like me!

Drop me a comment on your experience if you have also used Karren Murrell Lipsticks and loved it just like me!

2 thoughts on “Karen Murrell – Lipsticks”

  1. Is this brand popular in China, for example are there many offline shops there selling KM lipsticks? 😉 I’m going to China in a few weeks, and I’d love to try them for the fact that they are “lipsticks that can be eaten”!

    Like

    1. I am not able to advise whether there are many KM shops in China. There are resellers on taobao and some bring them in from NZ. I would suggest to check out KM official website to find out if they have any authorised distributors and in which countries. Have a great time in China and do drop me a note if u fins any shop there!

      Like

Leave a Reply

