Shiseido – Multi-Defense UV Protector SPF 50 PA+++ Water Resistant

Sunscreen that can be washed off with normal cleanser
Sunscreen that can be washed off with normal cleanser

Shiseido is one of the forerunners in the development of whitening products. They have also been pushing out sunscreen that works well with their whitening products.  I bought the Multi-Defense UV Protector when I was looking for a sunscreen that does not require me to wash off with makeup remover. After a long day at work, all I wanted was to have a simple skincare regime that will not remove too much of my skin’s natural moisture (I was using oil based make up removers at that time). Then I received a Shiseido advertisement in my mailbox talking about this revolutionary sunscreen that can be washed off with normal facial cleanser, and immediately I jumped into it.

About the Product

From the Singapore Shiseido website, the product was described as:

Feather-light to the touch, this highly effective lotion-type UV protector is resistant to perspiration and sebum, providing ample protection against external aggressors such as UV rays, for the maintenance of beautiful, healthy-looking skin.

The ingredients of this product are:
・Exclusive OptiVeil-UV technology provides advanced protection from UVA/UVB rays that may cause photo-aging.
・Scutellaria Baicalensis* helps prevent UV damage to essential fibroblasts which produce collagen and elastin, the key elements to resilient, youthful-looking skin.
・Rose Apple Leaf Extract* helps prevent DNA damage caused by harmful UV rays.
・Hydro-Restoring Complex contains moisturizing amino acids that naturally exist in skin. Provides sufficient moisture for skin that is smooth to the touch.
・Thiotaurine combined with Rose Apple Leaf Extract* counteracts oxidation, the damaging process which accelerates skin aging.
・Free of any sticky residue, doubles as the ideal base for a long-lasting, beautiful foundation finish. Is easily removed with a daily cleanser.
・Water-resistant.
*in vitro test

*NON-COMEDOGENIC.
*DERMATOLOGIST AND OPHTHALMOLOGIST-TESTED.

The texture of the sunscreen is milky (if you had used sunscreens from Aqualabel or Anessa (drugstore products by Shiseido) or even Mentholatum, you will notice that the japanese sunscreen is usually milky and the texture varies based on the density of the milk). As with similar Japanese sunscreen, you are required to shake the bottle to mix the product before use. This product does not give a white powdery sheen on your skin compared to some of the other Japanese sunscreens, that tends to make your face look a shade whiter.

Using the Product

In case you don’t already know, the Multi-Defense UV Protector also acts as a makeup base. After your daily moisturizer, apply the Multi-Defense UV Protector on your skin before your foundation. I have used this together with my mineral powder foundation, and the results has been satisfactory. It held the powder well and presents a relatively smooth complexion on my combination skin. However, I have to also point out that I am in air-conditioned environment most of my time hence the review is only if you are in cooler and less humid environment. If I were to use the Multi-Defense UV Protector on its own without foundation or make up, I will use my clarisonic and my trusty facial foam to wash my face. No outbreaks on the next day!

Where to Buy the Product

I had bought my Shiseido products from their counters or from Duty Free Shop (its cheaper!) – including this Multi-Defense UV Protector. The small 30ml bottle is handy and fits into my handbag as I move around in the day. I could not find this product on the Shiseido’s Australian Website but I did find it on their Singapore Website. Please let me know if you can find this product in your home country so that I can share it with the readers of this blog!

Leave a Reply

